fortygirl

FortyGirl…that’s me! This blog is about a Christian wife, mother and educator who is working on being a better person. This is my very own personal self-improvement journey! I will share my successes, situations (so much better than saying challenges), and any other funny or serious issues that will come up along the way. I am an educator who absolutely believes we MUST be life-long learners…that is what keeps us young! So, the journey begins…here we go….

Managing my stress…

on November 3, 2013

Well, It has been awhile since I have last visited my blog.  I wear many hats, who doesn’t these days?  So, I know I am not alone and that you will understand. Lately, I must say my biggest challenge these days is balancing my work life with being a wife and mother.  I love my family, and I love my job; however, I must say the stresses of my job have a way of finding their way into my personal life.  For example, due to a situation…ok, a FEW situations, I was at work until close to 7 PM.  I had to have my hubby pick up our son, I had not eaten since around 12:30, and that was very little, the situations were multi-faceted, so many factors were at play.  Needless to say, my stress level was through the roof.  I arrived home to my son, who greeted me with open arms!  He is four and he always makes me feel like super mom!  My hubby, on the other hand, was not as thrilled at the hour of my arrival.  I was on edge, he was irritated, and my son wanted my attention.  My phone was ringing, I wasn’t hungry…I was just plain exhausted!  So, I spent a little time with my son, then to sleep I went…angry with my hubby because of his reaction. In the middle of the night I was greeted with a phone call every child dreads…a parent or loved one is in the hospital, in this case my mom was in the hospital very sick…talk about perspective. So…I was left with one thing to do…

I woke up early in the morning, Saturday, thank goodness…I spent time alone with God.  I needed to pray. Prayer was the only way to get myself centered.  I knew he was the only one that was going to bring me peace.  I prayed for my mom to get well, for myself to be a better mother, better wife, for my hubby to be more understanding, and for God to handle all things work related…I just could not do it alone, and I knew if I went it alone I would not be successful.  I read my Christian magazine…topic…managing stress…talk about a message arriving at the right time!  You know what…after my time alone with God I WAS more centered, focused, at peace. It is revitalizing to know that I was blessed with another day, a beautiful morning…A  chance to think about the many blessings I have and that I need to learn to focus on those.   Fact of the matter…stresses will always be there…the beauty to me, is knowing that God will ALWAYS be there too!   Whew! Now, THAT is a relief…no, make that another BLESSING!

2 responses to “Managing my stress…

  1. […] Managing my stress… Nov […]

  2. […] Managing my stress…. […]

Leave a Reply

